Talon Game

Refractory Studios

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Version 1.2 released; new game mode, new map, misc improvements

#17 2013-12-31 03:15:31

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

Just found a bug, I was checking with my other computer and if someone has an old version of the map and tries to join a game that has a different or newer version of the .ter file, the game will just crash to the desktop when it finishes loading. Deleting the old .ter file fixes the issue and will force the players computer to download the new .ter file.

Offline

#18 2014-01-01 00:01:26

CDN_Merlin
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-25
Posts: 75

Re: New Map - Towers

Where is this level?  I also tried to join Battlecube and it crashes always with V1.0

Offline

#19 2014-01-01 00:45:51

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

It's only up when I'm testing it right now, I should be on a good bit tonight though.

Offline

#20 2014-01-01 21:18:32

sdfgeoff
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 103
Website

Re: New Map - Towers

I had a bit of a play today, hampered as always by my ping of >350.

I find the map a little busy. There are so many similar towers and bases that I find it hard to navigate. I'm sure if I played it more, it would become more obvious, but it isn't very 'newbie friendly.' Also, I landed on a couple of repair pads and was disappointing they didn't do anything, particularly because I was on low health.

In my opinion, just reduce the number of towers slightly. But I like many of the ideas (like the repair-bay strip, and the fallen towers), so just cut back on the duplication slightly.
Great job.

Offline

#21 2014-01-01 21:24:37

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

Thanks! The idea behind it is to make the map appear populated instead of feeling empty. Overall, the map still revolves around the 5 control points. The stuff that I've added is really just for looks. I can add more repair points but, I felt that it might upset the balance too much. I've been watching tutorials on how to use Torque Constructor today and I already have some ideas for new buildings and stuff. Also the repair pads that are inactive all have containers or ships on them like the building is only used for storage was the idea behind that.

Offline

#22 2014-01-01 22:19:51

sdfgeoff
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 103
Website

Re: New Map - Towers

In that case, removing the repair symbol on the floor, or at least obscuring it may be a good idea.

Offline

#23 2014-01-01 22:28:47

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

I can probably cover it up with containers, but at the moment, without having everyone download and install my map from a website prior to playing the level, I can only change terrain, all of the rest of the stuff is already in the game. If I change any textures, they will just show up white to anyone that doesn't have that texture already in their Talon folder.

Offline

#24 2014-01-05 16:48:30

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

Map has been released!

Download here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1770lhpjd8hbu … 20v1.0.exe

Offline

#25 2014-01-05 20:31:38

Do_Checkor
Beta Tester
From: Germany
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 156
Website

Re: New Map - Towers

Could you do these maps as ZIP please? I found .exe maps or mods to be avoided by a lot of people. Not only because antivirus tools report it is dodgy. Thank you for your efforts, CommandoRash!

Also : I would offer any Talon map / level designer webspace to just upload to forum.talongame.net or even FTP access if anyone still knows what that is ;-)

Offline

#26 2014-01-05 20:50:21

Smaragdadler
Member
From: Thuringia
Registered: 2013-12-26
Posts: 42

Re: New Map - Towers

What is this? I want to fly with it!!!

secshi.jpg

Offline

#27 2014-01-05 20:55:30

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

haha! I hope I didn't give Scott's secret away, I found it too and can't wait to fly it!

Yes, I will change them to .zip  I didn't think it really mattered since anti virus programs can scan a zip as easy as a exe

Last edited by CommandoRash (2014-01-05 20:56:36)

Offline

#28 2014-01-05 21:11:37

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

Offline

#29 2014-01-05 22:52:49

sdfgeoff
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 103
Website

Re: New Map - Towers

Nope, you won't be flying that one. It's one of the early ships from before the art style of Talon was fully decided (I believe this is correct?)

At one stage there were some other things drifting around that folder, but I think Scott's cleaned most of it up.
Hmm, could be fun to confuse people by placing 'dead' ships in various places. Maybe in those hangers of yours.

Offline

#30 2014-01-05 22:54:05

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

I did place some in a few hangers scattered around

Offline

#31 2014-01-06 00:14:56

Splotchie
the lounge's pet leopard
From: some other reality
Registered: 2013-09-16
Posts: 81
Website

Re: New Map - Towers

As if the ships were having maintenance when the fighting started.  I like...


We live in a universe...                                                                    it's distracting
=========================================================
beware of ounce

Offline

#32 2014-01-06 00:18:16

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: New Map - Towers

yep

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.9