Talon Game

Refractory Studios

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Version 1.2 released; new game mode, new map, misc improvements

#1 2014-01-06 23:15:00

sdfgeoff
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 103
Website

Mission Editor

I quite enjoy using the mission editor with the bots in there to tell me about level sizing, placement of waypoints, spawnpoints etc.

But if the bots are on auto, and you're not in there, they gradually get wimpier and wimpier.
Is it possible that:
- Bots don't change their skill level when you are not in a game (eg when your ship hasn't spawned, the skill is locked)
- Or that bot's skill get's locked whenever you enter the mission editor, and is unlocked whenever you quit.

Yes, I know I can set the skill manually, but most of the time I have it on auto, and it is a nuisance to change it!

Last edited by sdfgeoff (2014-01-06 23:15:30)

Offline

#2 2014-01-06 23:19:57

Do_Checkor
Beta Tester
From: Germany
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 156
Website

Re: Mission Editor

nuisance?

You only got to change it once, right?

Offline

#3 2014-01-07 00:16:01

sdfgeoff
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 103
Website

Re: Mission Editor

Until I want to play it for fun again without having a set AI level.

Offline

#4 2014-01-07 00:35:39

Do_Checkor
Beta Tester
From: Germany
Registered: 2013-09-27
Posts: 156
Website

Re: Mission Editor

hm you could create a second profile for level design / level testing - which is what I do to seperate between dedi server things.

You can launch the game with the command line parameter "-profile leveltest" as opposed to "-profile justplay" - making it easy enough - as you only need a second deskop shortcut.

Offline

#5 2014-01-14 20:48:26

Scott
Refractory Studios
Registered: 2012-08-07
Posts: 461
Website

Re: Mission Editor

The problem with "locking" the auto-skill is that the auto-skill determines the skill level based on scores. It would be trivial to disable the auto-skill while the editor is open, but it would do no good, because the bots are still playing and the scores are still changing. As soon as the editor is closed the auto-skill will adjust the skill based on the current scores just as it would have if the editor was never opened.

I think Checkor has a good idea with the two profiles.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.9