Talon Game

Refractory Studios

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Version 1.2 released; new game mode, new map, misc improvements

#1 2013-09-30 10:38:35

VEX-Ben
Beta Tester
From: Germany, Aachen
Registered: 2013-09-28
Posts: 83

Probs with finding other MP-games

We tried to start a MP-Game for the Internet, but other players could not see the game. We tried it in 2 ways, but no success.
May be we have to configure our Router, but how?
I'm not the Specialist who find out this ;-)

Offline

#2 2013-09-30 11:40:00

CDN_Merlin
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-25
Posts: 75

Re: Probs with finding other MP-games

I created one before and I didn't have to do anything in my router.  Make sure you have the "internet" part at the top selected.  Then click on Create game at the bottom and make sure it's not a private game.

Hope this helps.

Offline

#3 2013-09-30 12:08:12

VEX-Ben
Beta Tester
From: Germany, Aachen
Registered: 2013-09-28
Posts: 83

Re: Probs with finding other MP-games

Thanks Merlin,

I don't know what, but after I opened the ports 28000 - 28010 someone found me and was on the Server, while I wasn't at home. :-(
So I don't know, is it because I opened the port, or is it beause it takes a few minutes too be seen...

Offline

#4 2013-09-30 12:58:24

CDN_Merlin
Beta Tester
Registered: 2013-09-25
Posts: 75

Re: Probs with finding other MP-games

I couldn't guess why it worked.  I never opened any ports on my router for this game.  Maybe it just takes time???

Offline

#5 2013-09-30 17:48:32

VEX-Ben
Beta Tester
From: Germany, Aachen
Registered: 2013-09-28
Posts: 83

Re: Probs with finding other MP-games

Thanks for your help, may be it has to do with the latest Updates. Will see next days, .. beta will have little bit patience ;-)

But it's great! :-))

Offline

#6 2013-09-30 19:42:37

Scott
Refractory Studios
Registered: 2012-08-07
Posts: 454
Website

Re: Probs with finding other MP-games

28000 - 28010 is the correct port range to forward. Talon has NAT punch code that ideally should handle that automatically, but if you have an older router or a particularly strict firewall, it may still be necessary to manually open those ports.

Also, the latest patch did break network compatibility, meaning that those with the patch cannot see/play with those who have not yet patched. Everyone running the beta should patch to the latest version anyway, please, because it is less useful to me to be testing the outdated version.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.9