Talon Game

Refractory Studios

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Version 1.2 released; new game mode, new map, misc improvements

#17 2013-12-31 13:05:44

CommandoRash
Member
From: Clarksville, TN
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 96

Re: How to create a dedicated server

I just installed the tool to its default folder. Your server has an awesome 75 ping btw

Offline

#18 2013-12-31 15:08:00

Hydra
Beta Tester
From: South Jersey
Registered: 2013-08-22
Posts: 86

Re: How to create a dedicated server

It doesn't matter where you install TSM, as long as it's pointing to the correct talon.exe.

And I'm not sure why it wouldn't show up Publically. TSM doesn't actually handle that, that's still up to Talon.

All TSM is doing, is creating the config files for Talon to use, then starting Talon with the correct command line args.

It's shown up on both my hosts, 2 different locations, and even through a NAT'd virtual machine.

AISkill's not working? It should be. I'll take a look today.


ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - AMD FX-6300 (6 core) cpu - Radeon HD 7950 (3 gig) - X-FI Platinum sound - OCZ Vector SSD - 8 Gig Ballistix RAM

Offline

#19 2013-12-31 16:19:58

Scott
Refractory Studios
Registered: 2012-08-07
Posts: 454
Website

Re: How to create a dedicated server

Depending on your network/router, games that you host may not show up on the Internet list. This is because when you browse that list, you will receive your WAN IP as the address for your server. Your computer may or may not be able to ping the server inside your LAN by that IP.

Offline

#20 2013-12-31 16:59:13

Red_Barchetta
Rookie Member
From: Miami, Fl. USA
Registered: 2013-12-24
Posts: 21
Website

Re: How to create a dedicated server

I have no problem seeing a server running as local or network, when it is actually running. For the server tool, I just changed my IP to bind from my actual IP to the name (red.damnserver.com) and that seems to have worked, at least I did not get an error this time. I am not able to run Talon on my Win8_64bit server so I can not see right now if the games are posting or not. Will have to check that when I am back at home.


Red's Descent 3 Site
D1, D2 & D3 map downloads. Hosting USA South East Server.

Offline

#21 2013-12-31 17:14:26

Hydra
Beta Tester
From: South Jersey
Registered: 2013-08-22
Posts: 86

Re: How to create a dedicated server

I've made a couple adjustments (non network). I'll make a dedicated thread in an hour or 2.


ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - AMD FX-6300 (6 core) cpu - Radeon HD 7950 (3 gig) - X-FI Platinum sound - OCZ Vector SSD - 8 Gig Ballistix RAM

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.9